Skip to content

Not getting the point

2008/07/19

You know, one thing in computer culture seems to disturb me. This is the face that user and developer are two very isolated things when developing products/technologies/devices.

My point here where you find that people commenting and even the author can’t seem to see the forest through the trees. The one thing about the Openmoko project is that testing was every limited to those with some experience in programming to get things to work. They compare it to the iPhone, they laugh at it’s interface and yet, they don’t understand that the more people use it, the better it can be. This is not a nerd OS, this is some different… completely, you make your experience on it… not to have it given to you. You are the developer, and user with this device. You control it, develop it, you use it… I can’t seem to find that anywhere.
I am not sure about you, but for myself… I am thinking of some way to sell my Moto L7 for the Freerunner. Why, control… unbridled… unrestrained… unsurpassed… everything on the Freerunner (and most linux desktops) is at my command, compared to a Blackberry/iPhone, that is something that I value more that some flash that I have not matter in. If anything, the next phones in the Neo line is going to be interesting… and I want in.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

